CLiPPA — The CLPE Poetry Award

CLiPPA winner 2024 - CLiPPA homepage

'The Final Year' by Matt Goodfellow, illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton and published by Otter-Barry Books is the winner of this year's CLiPPA Award!

The full CLiPPA 2024 shortlist:

About the CLiPPA Award
The CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) is the only award that celebrates outstanding poetry published for children in the UK. Each year, we invite publishers to submit their published poetry collections to our CLiPPA judging panel, who will choose a winning collection to be announced at our annual award ceremony. As part of the celebration, we run a shadowing scheme for schools, giving children the chance to learn more about poetry and practice performing their favourite poems from the shortlisted collections. Winning shadowing schools are then invited to perform at the CLiPPA Award ceremony, which is live streamed to schools across the country, and includes performances from the shortlisted poets alongside live drawing by former Children’s Laureate Chris Riddell.

Find out more about the 2025 CLiPPA Shadowing Scheme and how to register your school to take part!

CLiPPA 2024 Judges
This year’s Chair of judges is award-winning poet Liz Berry and she is joined by teacher and writer Darren Chetty, Billie Manning of the Poetry Society, Imogen Maund, teacher and UKLA representative, and Laura Mucha, who was shortlisted for the CLiPPA in 2022. 

Find out more about this year's panel.

Photo ©Ellie Kurttz

Information for Publishers: CLiPPA 2025 Submissions
If you are interested in submitting to the CLiPPA 2025, or have any further questions about the Award, please contact Phoebe the CLPE Librarian at [email protected].

The CLiPPA is delivered in partnership with the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) and supported by Arts Council England and Teach Primary.  Visit the bottom of this page top download ALCS's copyright resources for schools.

Teach Primary Logo


CLiPPA 2024 Shortlist Announcement Event


CLiPPA 2023 - live from the National


Karl Nova on the CLPE Poetry Award (CLiPPA)